Kevin McMahon

Kevin’s professional career has centered on income tax and business consulting. Although Kevin continues to maintain a large tax and business consulting practice, his areas of concentration now includes business valuation and litigation support services related mostly to business acquisitions and sales, shareholder litigation and marital dissolutions at trial and/or in mediation.

Kevin attended Amarillo College and transferred to Texas Tech University in 1971 and graduated with his Bachelor of Business Administration degree in Accounting from Texas Tech University in May, 1973.

In June, 1973, he went to work for the Lubbock accounting firm of Caraway & Howard as a staff accountant and gained valuable experience in auditing and tax compliance for small businesses as well as individuals and became licensed to practice public accounting as a Certified Public Accountant (CPA) in June, 1974 after passing the November, 1973 CPA exam and completing the experience requirement. In July, 1977 Kevin was admitted as a partner in the firm of Caraway, Howard & Spikes certified public accountants and the firm name changed to Caraway, Spikes & McMahon, L.L.P. in July 1978. The final name change to Caraway, McMahon & Company, L.L.P. occurred in July, 1985. After years of experience in numerous business transactions, Kevin concluded that he should gain specialized training in Business Valuations and was earned the Certified Valuation Analyst (CVA) designation in January, 2003, and became AICPA Accredited in Business Valuations (CPA/ABV).

Civic work has always been a hallmark of Caraway, McMahon & Company, LLP, and it’s predecessors where, in following the legacy of Max B. Caraway (retired), Kevin has volunteered his time and expertise to many worthwhile institutions and causes in the Lubbock area, leading to his being awarded the Rita Harman Volunteer Service Award “For a Lifetime of Community Service” by the Lubbock Area United Way in September, 2005 and the William H. Tinney Ethics award in May, 2004.

Kevin currently serves as 2011 Campaign Chairman for Lubbock Area United Way.  At the same time, Kevin serves as Trustee and Treasurer of The CH Foundation, as well as Trustee of The Talkington Endowment as well as the Helen Jones Endowment benefiting the Louise Hopkins Underwood Center for the Arts, the West Texas Home Builders Home for Heroes and serves on the Advisory Board at PlainsCapital Bank.

Kevin’s past community service has included Board Chair of Covenant Health System of Lubbock, an affiliate of the St. Joseph Health System of Orange, CA as well as Trustee of the Lubbock Methodist Hospital System Board. State National Bank of West Texas, Development Board; U.S. Brush Company, Ltd Board Member and Secretary; Lubbock Country Club President and Board Member; Highland Hospital Board of Governors; Myriadlase, Inc. Board of Directors; United Way of Lubbock, Inc. Board Chair, Board of Directors, Executive Committee, Finance Committee; Marion Moss Enterprises, Inc. Board of Directors, Long Range Planning Committee; Covenant Foundation, Inc. Treasurer and Board of Trustees; Lubbock Chamber of Commerce Board Chair, Executive Committee, Board of Directors; Leadership Lubbock Class of 1978; Texas Boys Ranch; YMCA; American Cancer Society; American Diabetes Association; Hospice of Lubbock, Inc.; Lubbock Industrial Foundation Executive Committee; Texas Tech Foundation; Texas Tech University Foundation; Texas Tech University System Chancellor’s Advisory Committee; Texas Tech University Medical School Foundation; Lubbock Independent School District various committees; City of Lubbock various committees; Greater Lubbock Rotary Club Past President and Board Member; St. Luke’s United Methodist Church Finance Committee, Administrative Council and Education Committee; Lubbock High School PTA Treasurer; Monterey High School Booster Treasurer; National Kidney Foundation; Texas Society of CPAs Ethics Committee, State Director, Litigation Services, Relations with Education and CPAs Helping Schools Committee; Lubbock Chapter of TSCPA President and Director.